Can't find newgrf directory or newgrf.cfg file, how to make

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Ransom
Engineer
Engineer

Can't find newgrf directory or newgrf.cfg file, how to make

Post by Ransom »

I'm new to this whole thing, I'm trying to install the US train set/stations/industries.....problem is, I dont see a newgrf directory OR a newgrfw.cfg file in my TTD directory. How am I supposed to add a line of text commands to a file that doesn't exist? and if Im suppose to create it, how do I make a .cfg file? I'm running 2.5 beta 9
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
WWTBAM

Re: Either I'm stupid...or....

Post by WWTBAM »

To create it, just create a newgrf.txt and change its extension to .cfg or if you have hide known extensions off then just save it as newgrf.cfg.
Formerly known as r0b0t_b0y2003, robotboy, roboboy and beclawat. The best place to get the most recent nightly builds of TTDPatch is: http://roboboy.users.tt-forums.net/TTDPatch/nightlies/
Ransom
Engineer
Engineer

Post by Ransom »

robotboy wrote:To create it, just create a newgrf.txt and change its extension to .cfg or if you have hide known extensions off then just save it as newgrf.cfg.
maybe this whole thing ain't for me. How do you save it as a .cfg file? Only option I have is .txt

And how come I don't have any of the files that these set instructions say should already be there? Frustrating? yeah, to say the least.

Here are the files in my TTDX folder, I had to delete something called TTDLOADW.OVL when installing the 2.5 beta 9 patch.

Comeng 523M
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Post by Comeng 523M »

Maybe you should try a configuration program. TTDXC is my favorite personally, though many write the command file themselves.
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon

Post by wallyweb »